José Pedro Paiva (Scientific Coordinator)


Maria Antónia Lopes


Jaime Ricardo Gouveia


Maria Amélia Álvaro de Campos


Coordination of the Groups and the Line of Research:

Maria Helena da Cruz Coelho
Maria Margarida Sobral da Silva Neto
Fernando José de Almeida Catroga


Maria José Azevedo Santos
General Assembly

The General Assembly comprises all researchers.



Permanent External Scientific Advisory Committee (CEPAC)

This committee includes national and international experts and is dedicated to the supervision and support of research projects and of the scientific activity of the CHSC. Its composition meets the FCT regulations for Research Units.
Avelino de Meneses
Department of History, Philosophy and Social Sciences of the University of Azores.
Ariel Guiance
National University of Córdoba, Argentina.
Jorge Alves
Faculty of Arts and Humanities of the University of Oporto
Adriano Prosperi
Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa